Kids Comprehension Of Puns & Play On Words

I’ll never forget the time my son Max watched with disappointment as I cautiously climbed into the shower. He sat there and stared at me…waiting. “What’s up buddy?”  I asked.  He replied, “When you gonna start jumping?” I looked at him in confusion then remembered I had said I was going to “jump in the shower.” This is an interaction I have had for years with my son because he’s been a toddler and therefore takes everything as literal. English is a funny language; its hard to learn. I study a few languages and nothing is more fickle than English. Watching my boys learn it has been humbling and I have wondered at what age kids learn things like puns and play on words. Today, my boys answered that question.

*Max is now 5 (though he’d tell you he’s 5 3/4) and Dodge is 3.

MAX: “Hey Dada?”

ME: “Yes Max?”

MAX: “Why do seagulls fly over the sea?”

ME: “Well…I suppose its because…”

MAX: “…Because if they flew over the bay they’d be bagels!”

(laughs hysterically and runs away)

DODGE: “Hey Dada?”

ME: “Yes Dodge?”

DODGE: “Why DON’T seagulls fly over the bay?”

ME: “Because they’re seagulls?”

DODGE: (offended by my stupidity) “No! Because if they flew over land they’d be sandwiches!”

(laughs hysterically and runs away)


Did you enjoy this post? If so please “like” it, share it, add a comment, and/or subscribe. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

