Chapters Of My Life

Ryan W. Gates DudegrassI just realized…I’m in a chapter of my life.  I know that sounds stupid, or maybe I just think it sounds stupid, but it is true…I think I just woke up from a fog and realized where I am.  Of course we are all in chapters of our lives, but some chapters are more fun to read than others.  Some chapters are character development.  Some chapters are full of adventure!  Some chapters are boring.  Some chapters are just bridges to other chapters.  Some chapters are sad.  Some chapters don’t make much sense…but they are all in the damn book.

Don’t ask what set this train of thought in motion because I’m not entirely sure and I don’t know if it really matters.  What I do know is, the chapters of my past have been extremes.  I’ve lived in 7 cities in my lifetime and have worked as a busboy, a model, an actor, a film producer, a TV writer, a social media strategist, a restaurateur, a consultant, a marketer, and more.  I’ve been engaged twice and married once.  I have two small children who won’t leave me alone and I have lived alone without electricity and wondered what it would be like to not be alone.  I’ve shouted from mountaintops, gone scuba diving in the Caribbean, ridden elephants in Thailand, skied The Plunge in Telluride, seen icebergs in Newfoundland, played golf in Ireland, eaten tafelspitz in Budapest, raced streetcars in Puerto Rico, climbed a glacier, totaled a car, flipped a motorcycle, spent the night in jail, made friends, lost friends, laughed so hard I cried, and cried so hard I laughed.  My life has been pretty rapid-fire!

Now I wear khakis.

So what?  So I used to wear shorts and tennis shoes.  So I used to wake up when I wanted to.  So things used to be different.  So Long Freedom?  So long old chapters in my life.  I don’t know what the next chapter of my life will be but I know this, there will be another chapter.  How do I know?  Because every chapter prior to now has ended…and this one will end too.  Maybe adventure lies ahead!  Maybe more khakis but with a higher waistline and ergonomic underwear?  Who knows?  However, when I was in all those adventurous chapters I didn’t know I was in a chapter of my life…I was just living.  Sometimes I think this chapter of my life sucks.  Sometimes I can’t believe how lucky I am and love this chapter of my life.  All I know is I’ll look back someday and recognize this time period as a chapter…and I sense things are transitioning.

Maybe its the sleep.  I finally slept well for the first time in 3 years.  I’ve been sleeping well for 4 nights in a row now.  More to come on that soon.  Maybe its nothing.  Maybe its everything.  This may be one of the odder posts I’ve written in a while.  Yeah, what are we talking about?  When I used to write comedy for TV I always said the best way to end a non sequitur was to cut it off oddly and leave the audience confused as to what just happened.

carousel_4_1

Did you enjoy this post? If so please “like” it, share it, add a comment, and subscribe via email or RSS if you haven’t already at solongfreedom.wordpress.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

