What If I Told You I Could Make Mama Appear?

Super-DadSometimes kids are just going to throw temper tantrums, like my son Max who is 3.  Max’s automatic reaction to everything is to say “no” in defiance without recognizing what he is saying no to.  Then he processes it and throws a tantrum.  For example you could say, “Max time to stop playing and go get an ice cream cone.”  Max’s automatic response would be, “NO!!! I don’t want to stop playing!!!”  To which I reply, “Okay, so you don’t want an ice cream cone?”  To which Max naturally throws a tantrum and screams, “…But I WANT an ice cream cone!”  He does this stupid little foot stomping shoulder shrugging motion while making the whiniest sound he can muster.  It literally makes me laugh it’s so stupid, but I try not to let him see me laugh because he’s feeling real emotion and all that crap.  Instead, I’ve taken to videoing him overreacting and then showing it to him later when he’s calm so he can see for himself what he looks like when he throws a tantrum.  Its pretty clear its annoying and he picks up on that right away.

However, every now and then you gotta mess with your kids.  Your parents messed with you…now its your turn!  Sometimes videos just time out perfectly, like in this video where I hone my Super-Dada ability of making the Mama appear right before a tantrum goes from explosive to nuclear.

Did you enjoy this post? If so please “like” it, share it, add a comment, and subscribe via email or RSS if you haven’t already at solongfreedom.wordpress.com. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “What If I Told You I Could Make Mama Appear?

Leave a Reply

