Lay’s Salt & Vinegar Chips: PART 2

dillons_logoOkay…so I know this post is ridiculous but it is near and dear to my heart so here we go!  As my constant readers know, I have been on a quest to find out why there are no Lay’s Salt & Vinegar Chips in Wichita, KS which you can read about HERE.  I contacted my local grocer, Walmart, local convenience stores, and of course…Lay’s.  So far I have received a generic response from QuikTrip and a personalized response from Dillon’s.  I wanted to share the response from Dillon’s because it is a lesson in A+ PR any business should practice.  Customer’s want a response when they contact a brand – this was one of the finer responses I have received:

Dear Ryan:

Thank you for contacting Dillon’s Customer Connect regarding Lay’s Salt and Vinegar Potato Chips. I appreciate the request to stock this item in your local store. There are many factors that determine which products are available to and sold in our stores– shelf space, product demand, supplier availability, and vendor contracts are a few. Special order forms are always available at the customer service desk as a courtesy to accommodate specific item requests.

I have shared your request with the store manager at our Central store as our office does not have access to inventory or ordering information. (I chose this store because it was the location you indicated in your email, if you would like to request this product at a different store, please let me know!) Your store manager has the ability to check inventory at other stores and can advise if the product can be stocked and/or special ordered.

Your second option would be to contact our Special Request Team who can see if they can order this item for a one time pickup at your store. This, however, cannot guarantee the product will be stocked in our stores as there are many factors that affect the availability. If you would like to make a special request please contact 1-855-345-5696.

I hope that you find this information helpful. My name is Sara and if I can be of further assistance, please simply respond to this email or call.

Thank you for shopping with us.

Sincerely,

Sara
Kroger Customer Connect 
The Kroger Family of Stores 

Having spent a week with Cox Communication’s “Help” department trying to get my phone to work and having the Royals game drop out twice during two different games…it was lovely to get some real customer service!  Seriously, don’t get COX cable…they are terrible.  I got very excited and was ready to call the Special Request Team when a co-worker posted on my Facebook timeline:

LaysSVChips

Walmart!  On the west side!  Of course the west side!  Now I have to see if I can get the east side location to carry them…though I have a thing about Walmart and try to do everything possible to avoid it thanks to years of spending hours there for business…though if they stocked them at the Walmart Neighborhood Market I would be fine with going there.

My co-worker brought them to work today and as I type to you…oh constant reader…my fingers are encrusted with sticky vinegar and salt as my roof burns ever so slightly from the greatest chip on the planet:  Lay’s Salt & Vinegar!  As well as I type, I realize that all this time I could have bought the chips from Amazon.  Either way…I feel like life is all that and a bag of chips today!

20140908_131231

Did you enjoy this post? If so please “like” it, share it, add a comment, and subscribe via email or RSS if you haven’t already at solongfreedom.wordpress.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

