She Loves Me The Way I Am

WARNING…Husband is about to be super cheesy to wife:

Still My Best Friend

Sometimes we question what we’re doing…whether it be in life, in work, or just in a moment as we daydream.  Some of us question things more than others and I feel that this questioning is the birthplace of creativity and progress.  I often question who I am and wonder what I can do to better myself and those around me.  I do this more than ever now that I am a father.  Sometimes that questioning can lead to you forgetting who you are and getting overly wrapped up in everyday b.s..  Sometimes your questioning can steer you of course because some questions need answers.  One thing I have come to universally understand (for me) is that the greatest thing in the world is sweeter when you have someone to share it with.  Triumphs are more exciting, losses are easier, and challenges become fun when you have someone to share them with.  I am glad I have my wife Kate to share life with…the good and the bad.

20131214_145903I am far from perfect and as they say, “an acquired taste.”  I can be abrasive.  I can be a jerk.  I am emotional.  I can be downright stupid…but I’m also very loving.  I’m very giving.  I’m goofy.  I’m fun…and I turn everyday activities into a musical number at least once a day.  I am a very specific person and it takes a very specific person to love me.  Her name is Kate.  She has loved me during “worse.”  She has loved me during “better,” though I always feel like “better” is on the infinite horizon and therefore always yet to come.  She has lifted me out of the trenches of life and I have carried her when she was too tired to move forward.  She completes me.

20131026_224446Today is not our anniversary, it is not a special date in our lives, nor is it anything other than a Friday morning in December…which is why it is exactly the time I want to say “I love you Kate.”  Music is a big part of our lives and songs on the radio have connected us when I’m on the road for work, bonded us when we feel apart, and captured who we are as friends.  My favorite song on the radio right now is “The Way I Am” by Ingrid Michaelson.  It is the soundtrack of my emotions at this current juncture of our lives.  It makes me happy to hear music this simple, this sweet, this honest on the radio and comforts me to know there are other people out there who get it.  Thank you for taking me the way I am and loving me no matter what.

“If you were falling, then I would catch you.
You need a light, I’d find a match.

Cause I love the way you say good morning.
And you take me the way I am.

If you are chilly, here take my sweater.
Your head is aching, I’ll make it better.

Cause I love the way you call me baby.
And you take me the way I am.

I’d buy you Rogaine when you start losing all your hair.
Sew on patches to all you tear.

Cause I love you more than I could ever promise.
And you take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.”

Did you enjoy this post? If so please “like” it, share it, add a comment, and subscribe via email or RSS if you haven’t already at solongfreedom.wordpress.com. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “She Loves Me The Way I Am

Leave a Reply

