My Wife Is A Badass!

So boohoo my life is hard because I have to slap on slacks and a polo everyday to go to work doing something I love with people I respect.  Hey…the blog is called “So Long Freedom” right?  Three years ago the idea of working in an office was terrifying compared to the happy-go-lucky lifestyle I had as a freelance filmmaker and marketing consultant living on Lake George, NY.  It’s actually pretty nice.  No you don’t play all day and wear sneakers (though I am wearing sneakers today) but you get this awesome thing called “stability.”  My 30’s have turned out to be pretty great so far so I don’t feel so bad saying “So Long” to my 20’s.  Next up was kids…and WOW…that actually is a BIG change!  However, it’s a ton of fun too.  Its pretty easy for me because I go to an office all day…and this brings me to our topic today: “My Wife Is A Badass!

My wife is a painter…an accomplished painter.  So moving to Wichita, having kids, buying a house, and blah, blah, blah was much more taxing on her than me…she’s just not a complainer like me.  Right now My wife teaches at 2 different colleges, spends 3 full week days at home with our son Max, completely runs our household, is pregnant with our second child, runs our small business CreativeRHINO, and still finds time to paint.  This week she travels to Dallas, TX for the opening reception of the show “Limbo” at the WAAS Gallery while last week we were at the Iowa Hall Gallery in Cedar Rapids, IA installing her solo show “Raw Painting.”  Two shows at once is awesome…two shows at once while juggling everything she is juggling is nothing short of heroic!

I don’t ask Kate to cook for me, but she does.  Twice a day I am treated to her culinary skills at breakfast and dinner.  I don’t ask Kate to do my laundry, but she does.  Every week I find clean slacks and shirts hanging in the closet.  Kate manages the bills (she’s the financially responsible one), chases a toddler, carries around a belly of a newborn, teaches, and does all these amazing things that seem so small but make the world go round.  Then I come home and plop my fat ass on the couch, sigh about how long my day was, and grumble that I have to walk 15 feet to get a beer.  I wish I had a mini fridge next to the couch.  Ah the perils of the Caucasian middle class in America!

Now I’m painting a picture here, so believe me I do my part as well, but I fully understand how easy my life is because of Kate.  So today I want to give a public appreciation to my wife for all she does.  I hope all of you will thank your wives, husbands, girlfriends, boyfriends, partners, siblings, or whoever you have that helps make your life easier.  If you are the guy like me that goes to the office and comes home to a clean house, finished laundry, a home-cooked meal, and a happy family…wash a dish, carry a pile of laundry, say thank you, and do whatever you can to make your partner know you appreciate what they do but don’t expect them to do it.  It can be easy to accidentally kick back and become accustomed to these perks.  If you have…you’ve got some apologizing to do!

So…without further ado:  Thank you Kate for all you do to make my life so easy and for listening when I complain about how hard it is and making me feel appreciated.  I try to proactively do chores at home but you rarely leave anything for me to do…so leave a dish out or something please so I can feel less guilty from time to time.  You are my partner, my best friend, and my wife…and I will stand by you till the end of time and love you for always.

…and now I’m totally going to plug my wife’s awesome two shows:

First Annual Group Show
W.A.A.S Gallery
2722 Logan Street Dallas, TX 75215
OPENING RECEPTION: NOVEMBER 16, 2012, 7-10 pm
SHOW CLOSES: January 18, 2013
Kirkwood Community College Presents:
Kathryn Van Steenhuyse: Raw Painting at the Iowa Hall Gallery
November 12th – December 7th, 2012
Admission is free to the public. The gallery is open Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 2-4 p.m. and Tuesday and Thursday from 10 a.m.-12 p.m. and 3-5 p.m. A reception for Van Steenhuyse is on Thursday, December 6, at 11 a.m.
“Just Breathe Through It” by Kathryn Van Steenhuyse 2012
Leave a Reply

