So Long Freedom: Chapter 2

So Long Freedom OMG!On June 22nd, 2010 I posted “Goodbye Tennis Shoes and 9AM Alarm Clocks” as So Long Freedom was born into the internet with a sonogram picture of my first child and my realization that everything was about to change.  My wife Kate and I had just made the adjustment of moving from Bolton Landing, NY on Lake George to a neighborhood in Wichita, KS.  I was transitioning from freelance producing new media, film and TV to a marketing job in Corporate America.  My tennis shoes sat waiting by the door for the weekend and my new loafers got all the attention.  Then came that sonogram…and all those life changes seemed pretty small in comparison…but also rapidly happening all at once.

We nicknamed the little guy “Ziggy the Zygote” or just “Zig” for short.  Who knew he’d grow into the Max I know and love today who is turning 18 months tomorrow and thinks he can tackle the world.  All the information out there about pregnancy were either completely aimed at women or treated men as if we were emotionally idiotic.  There wasn’t anything that spoke to the perils and rewards of fatherhood, so I logged my journey and shared it publicly…for better or worse.

Do I have all the answers?  Hell no…but I’ve asked a fair amount of questions and I’ve lived to tell some hilarious tales.  I’ve learned that every journey is different but if you are armed with the right knowledge its much easier to take on the bumps in the road of life.

I had no idea what fatherhood would be like and I’m still learning.  I now know what it is like to have a child.  I have no idea what it is like to have two children but it looks like we’re going to find out:

1st Trimester – 10 weeks. “Sesame.”

Meet “Sesame.”  Sesame is 10 weeks old right now and about the size of an olive.  While we’ve known Sesame was bouncing around in Kate’s belly for the past few weeks we were not officially introduced until Monday when we got to see his/her tiny heart beating during the sonogram.  While Max was unimpressed, I was delighted to see that Sesame’s little heart was beating and our baby was moving.  My heart is much calmer this time around but I am anxious about what will happen when we add another little person into our family dynamic.  What will it do to us?  What will it do to me?  Will it be a boy or a girl?  Will it be calm like Max and Kate…or wild like me?  Will it have my butt chin (Max does)?  Will it let me sing it to sleep?  Who knows.

…and so…Chapter 2 begins…

One thought on “So Long Freedom: Chapter 2

Leave a Reply

