New Words

Last night Max decided not to sleep. Why? I’m not sure…maybe because Daddy had one more glass of wine before bed and felt relaxed. Maybe because we have guests staying in the guest room this weekend? Maybe because today there is about a hundred things to get done for his birthday party? Whatever the reason…Max came crazy close to being a bundle on the steps of a church or orphanage this morning at 4:30 AM.

Now he is up, running around the house with his toys, and making cake baking very difficult. Coffee entered my system and I started to feel like a person again…a person capable of making it through today without sleep. How many days in a row have Kate and I gone without real sleep? Kate is a food source so she has it worse than me…I keep my mouth shut but my left eyelid has been twitching for 2 weeks straight now and every night I pray it will be the night I sleep and awake with no more stress twitch. Today is not that day. Today is the day of Max’s first birthday party.

Suddenly Max runs over to me and looks up at me in awe. He points to my shirt which is a Wichita State Shockers shirt with a picture of our beloved mascot WU Shock on the front. Max suddenly says “Wu!” I was stunned for a second. Did be just…? “Wu,” he said again as he pointed at Wu and then clapped his hands! To say I love the Shockers and Wu would be an understatement. We’ve taken Max to multiple games and he even went to the NIT game in NY when he was only a few weeks old. To know one of his first words is “Wu” is really hilarious and special to me.

Max will not be a bundle on a step today. Tomorrow? I’m gonna need to hear “let me get you a beer Daddy.” Or maybe just a hug.

image
Wu on my shirt

2 thoughts on “New Words

  1. Congratulations to all of you! One very special year; one I’ve felt privileged to follow along on. It’s amazing how closely my days are mirroring yours (with a three month lag)… right down to the twitching eye! All the best from little Anders and his Mom and I.

Leave a Reply

