Dukan Diet & The Holidays

My Thanksgiving Dinner

Dieting is tough…but dieting around the holidays can seem overly daunting.  Just before leaving for St. Louis my scale showed I had hit my goal of losing 20 lbs on the Dukan Diet and was almost ready to start phase 3.  That was of course before Thanksgiving!  So…here it is a week later…in that week was Thanksgiving, cocktail parties, family bar-hopping, meals on the road, and tailgating at an NFL game.  How did I do?  I didn’t gain a pound.  Here is how:

  1. On Thanksgiving I avoided all the pre-dinner snacking
  2. Thanksgiving dinner I did not go back for seconds
  3. I had small portions of the Thanksgiving sweets
  4. I did cardio at the hotel in the mornings for an hour+
  5. All week I stopped eating as soon as I was full
  6. I snacked within reason
  7. I made smart decisions

Simply by doing that I was able to maintain my weight…which is what phase 3 is all about.  I have to make a decision by the end of the day if I’m going to move on to phase 3 or stick with phase 2 for a few more pounds.  TBD.  In the meantime I must say I had a blast eating this week and to encourage all you dieters out there that when you enforce self control, exercise, and common sense you can maintain a healthy weight; here are some of the things I ate this week that are off the planned diet.

  • Corn
  • Gravy
  • Stuffing
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Tabouleh
  • Soft Cheese
  • Chips and queso
  • Bread
  • Bagels
  • Walnuts
  • Peanuts
  • 2Whoppers
  • Pita Chips
  • Jameson
  • Jäger
  • RedBull (see bullet point above)
  • Beer
  • Chicken Wings
  • Chicken Nuggets
  • Bratwurst
  • Knockwurst
  • Sliders

…and a few others I’m sure.  Now, I can’t go out and eat like that all the time but to have a splurge weekend with family around the holidays and then snap back to the diet routine?  You bet!  One of the things that Dr. Dukan says in this book that really resonates with me is that when you splurge your diet is not on the line…it is on the line the next morning.  If you splurge or slip up, how you respond to it the next day is what makes the difference.  Today I am doing my 100% protein day.  I feel good.  I’m not reverting.

Leave a Reply

