I Must Be A Girl

Last night I had a dream that Kate bought me a new car.  She knows I am looking for a late 60’s/early 70’s Bronco though I am not sure if she knows what that means.  In my dream I got up to go to work, did my usual morning routine, and then couldn’t find the keys to my car.  Then, Kate’s all “Are these your keys?”  She’s holding an old set of keys and I can see the word “Ford” on the handle of the key…just like on my old 1995 Bronco.  I wrap her up in a hug, kiss Max on the head, and bound through the back door to the driveway to lay my eyes on my new car…and there it is…a mid-90’s Bronco II.  Huh?  A Bronco II?  It is grey, has major rust issues, and looks like she rescued it from either the junk yard or a swamp.  Needless to say, my heart sinks.  I have comfort in knowing I still own my Subaru WRX and can drive that to…  “I sold your Subaru to get it!”  Kate professes.  Shit.  I grit my teeth, like a good husband, and pretend to be happy about this gift with good intentions.  I ask her how much she paid…sounded like too much.  The all important question, “what did you get for the Subaru?”  Too little.  However, there is a significant amount of difference so I ask, “what did you do with the rest of the money?”  Kate then opens the driver side door to the Bronco II and a mountain of shoes comes pouring out!  Nike Jordans, Toms Classics, limited edition Vans, vintage Chuck Taylors, and more!  Literally pouring out the door and spilling onto the driveway.  My heart races and I begin jumping up and down as if I just won the lottery!  “Yay!  Shoes!!!”

Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep…

My alarm clock is going off and it is 6:23 AM.

Time to go to work…in old shoes.  I dreamed about shoes, what’s wrong with me?  I’m a 32-year-old man living in Wichita, KS.  All I need is a pair of loafers, a pair of cheap sneakers, and some boots…but I love shoes, apparently enough to dream about them.  I must be a girl.

Leave a Reply

