After 9 months…the time has come.

Dear Zig,

This is the last night I will write to you and call you “Zig.”  Tomorrow you begin going by your real name once you join us out here in the world.  It was warm today in Wichita…around 40 degrees.  All four of your grandparents are here and your Aunt Lindsey and cousin Jake come on Saturday.  Next weekend Uncle Todd, Aunt Jenn, Uncle Mark, and Aunt Abby will be here.  Everyone is here and waiting for you.  You’ve stayed in there long enough and it is time to meet me face to face.  What color is your hair?  Do you look like me?  Who are you other than the little lumps that kick my wife from inside?  I am here for the rest of my life to find out and help you find out about yourself too little man.

Your mother and I have packed our bags, put everything on hold, and are less than 6 hours from starting the induction.  I am full of anxiety.  I feel the way I feel before I give a speech.  Nervous.  Anxious.  Excited.  Stressed.  I am over flowing with emotions.  I don’t know much about you but I can tell you I love you as much as a father can love his son and you have humbled me before your arrival.  Thank you for putting my life in perspective and helping me see my priorities.  You are my priority.  Your mother is my priority.  Our happiness is my priority.  I will do everything in my power to always honor those priorities and strive to help you grow as a person.

The pregnancy is about to end and life is about to begin…for all three of us.  Catch you on the flip side.

-Dad

4 thoughts on “After 9 months…the time has come.

  1. Many blessings, I’ll be praying for you all.

    I also gave birth today! My Apple iPhone application – i4SkinHealth – was approved and in a few hours will be set up on the iTunes Store. This one has been gestating for over 50 years and this will be one of the best ways of getting the info out there. I know well what overdue feels like! Birth feels better!

  2. Ryan,

    Made me cry. How beautiful!

    Know everything is in progress right now. We’re anxiously awaiting news.

    My love to all,

    Linda

  3. I am reading this as you are at St Joe’s and contractions are building in intensity. Looks like the flip side is beginning to play! mom

Leave a Reply

