I Miss You

image

This week I am in Phoenix again for business and I feel like a guilty jerk for not being home with Kate.  Simple tasks like getting up out of a chair have become hard for her as we are 1 month away from the birth.

Kate is constantly in the back of mind and everything in my body tells me to get home as fast as possible…but alas, I have responsibilities to my company as well.  I worry that this birth, as beautiful as it will be, may be the thing that turns Kate and I into more husband and wife, and less best friends.  As any newly-wed couple will tell you, the first years are magical…just the 2 of us.  What happens when there are 3?

I feel like a kid on Sunday night, begging to stay up late and watch the news with his parents…dreading the impending Monday.  But Monday will still come.  I’m grasping every opportunity to be with wife 1 on 1.  My best friend.  My partner in crime.  The mother-to-be of my children.

There are many phases of life and they were all scary. Going off to college, getting a job, getting married, having children, and beyond.  So far everything I have been afraid of has rewarded me with happiness and prosperity…I know this will too.  This birth will bring me closer to my wife because my heart is open and I am an active participant in her life as well as mine.  I will learn more about her.  I will learn more about myself.   I will change…I am becoming a father.

One thought on “I Miss You

  1. You will change. You will grow. You do not have to change and grow apart. In fact, I’m betting on you growing into a very fun family! Ryan’s sense of humor…..Kate’s even temper……..both of your creativity and playfulness….I think zig’s got it made! Move over twosome, one more is coming in, and it’s only going to get better!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

