Everything Is Better

Dear Zig,

After a month on the road I am at long last home.  In the past weeks I have been in Phoenix, AZ; Lawton, OK; and Odessa, TX.  Needless to say it was hard being away from you and your mother for so long.  Your mom picked me up from the airport on Sunday and the first thing I noticed was how much you have grown!  Wow!  Mom’s belly is hanging all the way out to make room for you buddy!  You weigh about 2 lbs right now and you are now opening and closing your eyes and sensing light.  You are also a kick monster.  When I left your kicks were these little taps on the belly but now they are these strong forceful motions that move the belly and demand attention.  I was laying on your mom’s belly listening to you and I felt your shoulder turn as you rolled over.  Then I sang you your favorite song (Viva Las Vegas) and you started kicking like crazy!  Mom says you kick more when I talk to you.  You also kick at night and first thing in the morning.  When Mom spoons me in bed I can feel you kicking me in the back!

As always, I was a goof-ball this morning and sang a few songs as I headed out the door for work.  Your mom laughs a lot when I do a little morning song and dance and it gets you kicking as well so we assume you like it too.  Just before walking out the door Mom stopped me and said “everything is better when you are around,” and it was the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me.  Look at the fun and love you are promoting in our house Zig!  Your mother and I love each other very much, but being pregnant with you has made us fall even deeper in love!  We can’t wait to meet you.  I love you.

-Dad

p.s. We are going to the doctor today to listen to your heart and do a check up, I can’t wait to hear your beautiful tiny heart again.  You are amazing!  Keep growing!

One thought on “Everything Is Better

Leave a Reply

